top of page

in mémoire of 2021 - 60th post

Okay~ I know I’m quite late for the summary, but better late than never, I guess.

Hmm… I’m not quite sure how to start this…

2021… Filled with unexpected happenings.


2021, I experienced a whole mental and emotional breakdown. I became extra sentimental. I cried easily, I cried the most this year in fact! I doubted myself, am I at the right path? I questioned myself, are you satisfied with these? I envy others, why they can and I can’t? … and the list goes on

However, God is faithful, He reminds me of His agape love. 4 simple alphabets, yet so much power in it. He reminds me to love; love myself, love others, love those that I know, and those that I don’t know.


2021, there are so many times that I neglected God, put Him beside and below. Still, He never leaves me nor forsake me. That stir in the Spirit, brings tears to my eyes; I know, that’s God, that’s my first love patiently waiting for me to turn back to Him; and each time I do, He is always there.



To be honest, 2021, I’m expecting myself to get a new job in China; however, it did not turn out the way I want it to be. God opened this door, ONLY door. Up till last week, God still assuring me that this is where He places me to be.


Testimony 1. I gotten the “Best Employee Award” for my department, being the only person in our Region to won a place. I wasn’t expecting any at first, not even being nominated, cause I’m less than a year in this company and I don’t think that I’ve achieved much. However, God is good, He gave me this recognition, acknowledged all my hard work. Of course, is God’s grace & mercy that I braved through 2021. Those times when I cry out to God for content ideas, when I prayed for God to send me the correct creator. Again and again, He showed up and showoff.


Testimony 2. I gotten an increment that’s higher than what I’m expecting. Actually financial provision was already a testimony for me throughout 2021. With my current financial status, I’m glad that for the past year I’m able to pamper those that I love, able to treat my friends, bring family for a staycation. It has been an achievement close to my heart for 2021. I’m really thankful that God keep providing, and I’m looking forward to be able to bless others more.


One of the reason I made through this tough year was the working culture & people of the company. My lead is one of the most patient and gentle person I’ve encountered. She sees me more than a colleague, and cares for me like a sister. What touches me most was during a season of emotional breakdown, she shared my workload, even when she herself has a lot on her plate. She told me ‘it’s okay, I will settle this for you, you rest’. When my lead left, I was forced to grow up ‘overnight’, but I guess there are pros in it; being able to understand more how other region works. One of the reasons why I choose this company is also because it’s international, and I’m hoping to be able to explore overseas market, answered prayer in-progress.


Another thing to be thankful is that my teammates are the most helpful, supportive, efficient and fun bunch. My country manager is also someone that cares about internal team first, and that’s something I appreciates. (of course, we ourselves have to be performing well)


Hence, looking back at all the blessings I got in this company, kinda reassured me that I'm walking on God's plan for me. Although, the path in front still fill with uncertainties, at least I have the peace knowing that God is with me.



Okay! Done with the marketplace testimony. Let’s talk about August. A very special month, especially in 2021.


First of all, of course is my birthday!


It was mco, and I thought I’m going to get some virtual celebration and that’s it. Who knows, it came to my surprise that I gotten lots of lots of cakes & birthday meal delivery! Overwhelmed with love! Literally! A slight regret was that I’m a bit sick that day, and couldn’t smoothly finished a virtual celebration. 不过大家的爱我都狠狠收到了!


Then, another happening was a total opposite, it was a super duper heartbreaking incident.


Zhang Zhehan, one of the actor that I love very much was framed and gotten into a controversy. Just within a few days, he got ‘removed’ from the industry, from social media; all of his existence (his songs, dramas, movies, interviews, tv shows) vanished overnight. (my heart still ache while writing this) … I cried so, so hard. The last round I cried this hard was when grandma passed away.

I’ll share about this more in another article. I just want to say, this incident kind of changed my perspective towards the China entertainment field, towards the country & people as well.


Personally, I’ve been through cyber-bullying too. One of the highlight for 2021! Huhu~


I posted a video on Douyin, wasn’t my first video, so I didn’t think much, just posted as usual. Guess what, that they video went slightly viral; gotten 200w+ views, 5k+ likes, 3k+ comments. What shocked me was the comments aren’t friendly.

Although, I find it funny, and didn’t take it to heart. Still, to be very honest, I kinda held back a little when wanting to post on Douyin again. I'll think twice. I just don’t want to go through the mess again. I’ll be lying if I said I’m 100% not affected. C’mon, we’re human.


Anyways, keyboard warriors in China are no joke, and I can imagine how hurtful it would be for ZZH that time, even now. All that I can do is to pray to God to keep him safe, healthy and justice to be return to him soon.



Last but not least! THANK GOD THAT I'M ALIVE!!

I was so close to death. I had a fell at the waterfall and the water washed me off. The water current was so strong that I only had one thought in mind, to stay alive. Thank God that I am. I had some stitches underneath my chin, bruises all over especially my legs, but thank God nothing is cracked nor broken, bones all good, I'm still in one piece.


That moment, so close to death, truly no other things matter. I will forever remember that gratefulness that overwhelmed me when I stepped out of the hospital and looked up to the sky and saw that clear blue sky.


One Sunday morning, a phrase in the sermon caught my attention. "Have you ever think, why are you still alive? There must be something God wasn't done with you yet." Like a wake up call, yeah, there must be a reason God kept me alive during that accident. Sometimes, life is just that simple, to live God's purpose, to love, to care, to make disciples.


人生真的没有必要纠结太多,生死就在一瞬间,过得简单点,让自己好受点。


2021, God taught me:
Alright! I guess these sum-up my 2021!




bottom of page